Using phishing and malware detection

Google Chrome Browser warns users if the site that you’re trying to visit is suspected of phishing or malware, using Google’s Safe Browsing technology.

What is phishing and malware?

A phishing attack takes place when someone masquerades as someone else to trick you into sharing personal or other sensitive information with them, usually through a fake website. Malware is software that gets installed on your machine, often without your knowledge, and is designed to harm your computer or potentially steal information from your computer.

Google Chrome phishing and malware alerts

Warnings that you may see when phishing and malware detection is enabled:

Warning: Something’s Not Right Here!
This warning appears if Google Chrome detects that the site you’re trying to visit may contain malware.
Warning: Suspected phishing site!
This message appears if Google Chrome detects that the site you’re trying to visit is suspected of being a phishing site.

How to disable phishing and malware detection

  •     Click the spanner icon on the browser toolbar.
  •     Select Options (Preferences on Mac and Linux; Settings on Chrome OS).
  •     Click the Under the Bonnet tab and find the “Privacy” section.
  •     Deselect the “Enable phishing and malware protection” checkbox.

Leave a Reply

eXTReMe Tracker

Google Chrome Download Download Google Chrome Coughing Up ManchesterAds Firefox Browser Download Google Chrome Browser Alanya Haber AlanyaNet Pay Per Click Alternatives Flash PC Game Mobile Web Browsers